What new things has the CEFR provided?

The CEFR introduced 3 new things:
  • The division of language communication into 5 aspects: the language skills
  • The creation of a multilingual and standard level-scale
  • Emphasis on the role of ‘tasks’ in language learning

Observe the following group of pictures. Can you identify the 5 language skills?
  • Listening
  • Giving a speech
  • Reading
  • Conversation
  • Writing

The five language skills
  1. Receptive speaking = listening
  2. Receptive writing = reading
  3. Productive speaking = speech giving
  4. Productive writing = writing
  5. Interactive speaking = conversation

Can you name the 6 levels of the CEFR?

The level scale
Every level ‘contains’, or builds on, the previous ones (like Russian dolls.)

The level scale

A – Low-level language learner. A1 – approach. A2 – launch
B – Independent language user. B1 – jump. B2 – fly
C – Professional level language user. C1 – Autonomous. C2 – Peak.

The levels can also be arranged like a ‘tree’.
The B1 level occupies a strategic place because it describes the stage where the learner can autonomously communicate in basic situations.
In any language, the B1 level is called the ‘threshold level.’